Opening Night Concert: Sean Lee, violin & Peter Dugan, piano

Friday, October 3, 2014, 7:30pm
Concert is free and open to the public.
Doors open at 7:00pm

Violinist Sean Lee and pianist Peter Dugan present an all-Beethoven program featuring three Sonatas for Violin and Piano. Ludwig van Beethoven's (1770-1827) work is often grouped into three periods: the Early, Middle, and Late Periods--this program features one sonata from each, highlighting the different stages of Beethoven's compositional life, yet always bearing the unmistakable stamp of his personal voice.

Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 12 No. 2 (17 min.)
I. Allegro vivace
II. Andante più tosto Allegretto
III. Allegro piacévole

Sonata No. 10 in G Major, Op. 96 (27 min.)
I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio espressivo
III. Scherzo - Allegro
IV. Poco allegretto


Sonata No. 9 in A Major, Op. 47 “Kreutzer” (38 min.)
I. Adagio sostenuto - Presto
II. Andante con variazioni
III. Finale: Presto